Thursday, January 02, 2020

2020 New Year's Honours list

I don't know how I managed to miss it, but in addition to the Cumbrians I have already mentioned, Gina Tiller, who was Chair of the North Cumbria University Hospitals Trust until last year, was also awarded the MBE in the 2020 New Year's Honours list.

The list of Cumbrians honoured includes:
  • Paul Foster, departing head of Sellafield, CBE for "services to business" 
  • John Hudson, BAE Systems, CBE for "services to the Royal Navy and to Naval Shipbuilding and Design." 
  • Sascha Hilary Wells-Munro of Kendal, OBE "for services to the NHS and patient safety." 
  • Ben Stokes of Cockermouth and the England cricket team, OBE "for Services to Sport." 
  • Professor John Howarth, Deputy Chief Executive of the North Cumbria Integrated Care NHS Trust and local GP, MBE for "services to General Practice." 
  • Gina Tiller, former Chair of NCUH, MBE "for services to healthcare in Cumbria." 
  • Elizabeth Cornford of Grange-over-Sands, MBE "for services to Young People." 
  • John Butler of Ulverston, MBE, "for services to Further Education." 
  • Mark McCree of Kendal, British Empire Medal (BEM) "for services to Public Libraries." 
  • John Shakeshaft of Ulverston, BEM "for services to Young People in Ulverston." 
  • Cassandra Rees of Greenheys, BEM "for services to the Community in Cumbria."

1 comment:

Chris Whiteside said...

If you want to post congratulations to the people who have been honoured for hard work for our country. please feel free.

If you want to make constructive general comments suggestions about good or bad points about Britain's honours system or how it can be improved, that's OK.

If you want to post any negative comments which name or identify people who have been honoured, particularly when hiding behind anonymity, that kind of trolling is not welcome here and will be deleted.

If you want to post that sort of thing, set up your own blog or website.