Foreign travel update


Last night, the Government took action to protect public health and control the virus by removing a number of countries including France from the travel corridors exemption list. 

  • On Thursday evening, the Government took the decision to remove France, the Netherlands, Monaco, Malta, Turks and Caicos Islands and Aruba from the travel exemptions list, following an increase of newly reported cases in all six destinations.
  • With effect from this Saturday, people arriving in the UK from these countries will be required to self-isolate for two weeks, and the government is now advising against all but essential travel to these locations, as everyone works to control the spread of new coronavirus cases from abroad.
  • The government understands that this will be very difficult for many people, but protecting public health must be our absolute priority. That is why they have taken this decision to limit any potential spread to the UK, and in doing so, ensure that the hard work and sacrifices of the British people over the past few months are not undone.


Anonymous said…
The action if needed should take effect immediately not at some arbitrary date in the future. Look at the chaos it has caused by people trying to beat the deadline.

Chris Whiteside said…
Every time the government changes any policy they either get people saying they should have acted faster, should have taken longer to give people more time, or usually both. There criticisms can't all be right. You can't change the policy faster than you can communicate it out to people.

Popular posts from this blog

Nick Herbert on his visit to flood hit areas of Cumbria

Quotes of the day 19th August 2020

Quote of the day 24th July 2020